Global Affairs Magazine
General News

Tinubu approves appointment of FCT’s first Head of Service, 10 Perm Secs

Tinubu approves appointment of FCT’s first Head of Service, 10 Perm Secs
  • PublishedMarch 12, 2024

President Bola Tinubu has approved the composition of the Federal Capital Territory FCT Civil Service Commission, as well as the appointment of a Head of Service and nine Permanent Secretaries.

Director, Press, in the Office of the FCT Minister, Anthony Ogunleye disclosed this in a statement on Tuesday in Abuja.

FCT Minister, Ezenwo Nyesom Wike had earlier written the president seeking approval for the nominees.

The approval is in accordance with the provisions of Section 2 (2) (a & b) of the Federal Capital Territory Civil Service Commission (Establishment) Act, 2018, which provides for the appointment of a Chairman and six other members representing each of the geo-political zones of the country.

Those appointed as Chairman and Commissioners of the FCT Civil Service Commission are; Engr. Emeka Ezeh (Chairman); Hon. Ahmed Mohammed (North West); Chief Anthony Okeah (South-South); Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim (North East); Miskoom Alexander Naantuam (North Central); Hon. Jide Jimoh (South West); and, Barr. Martin Azubike (South East).

Also, to fill existing vacancies in some critical Agencies of the Federal Capital Territory Administration Abdulkadir Zulkarfi was appointed as Coordinator, Satellite Towns Development Department; Chief Felix Obuah – Coordinator, Abuja Metropolitan Management Council; and, Oladiran Olufemi Akindele – Coordinator, Abuja Infrastructure Investment Centre.

In order to strengthen the bureaucratic structure of the Federal Capital Territory Administration, Atang Udo Samuel being the most senior Director in the FCT Civil Service was appointed as Head of the Civil Service of the FCT.

Some serving Directors of the FCT Civil Service were also appointed as Permanent Secretaries based on competence and geographical spread. They are Dr. Adams Baba Gana – North East, Wanki Adamu Ibrahim – North East; Asmau Muhktar – North West, Dogo Aliyu Wadata Bodinga – North West; Olusa Olusegun – South West, Adetoyi Rabiu Kolawole – South West; Grace Adayilo – North Central, Olubunmi Olowookere – North Central; Ibe Prospect Chukwuemeka – South East and Okonkwo Florence Nornubari – South South”.

See also  Primate Ayodele visits the sick as he begins 17 Days Of Appreciation & Philanthropic Impacts

Wike had on assumption of office last year disclosed of his resolve to ensure the implementation all relevant laws regarding the FCT Administration including the exiting of the Administration from the Treasury Single Account TSA.

Written By
Regina Robinson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *